Beta. This website is in beta. Find out more

Visit original site


Login to to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Phillips Award

The Phillips Award is for distinguished service to the Institute of Physics.

This award is for people who have played a significant role in the Institute of Physics. We reward innovative ideas or activities that have made a major contribution to our objectives. Nominees may have made original contributions to:

  • our groups
  • our branches
  • our governance
  • the promotion of the Institute of Physics

Examples of distinguished service include:

  • starting a new activity
  • establishing a new local centre
  • running a major conference
  • setting up a public engagement event

Making a nomination

We recognise that our members contribute to the IOP in many different ways and we do not have a set of criteria for making a nomination. You should make your case for a nomination using the guidance in the nomination form.

Nominations for the 2019 Phillips Award are now closed. The 2020 Phillips Award will open again in February 2020.

About Major CES Phillips

Major CES Phillips was one of the founders of the Institute of Physics and was Honorary Treasurer from 1929 to 1945. He was a pioneer in medical physics and also served as President of the British Institute of Radiology from 1930 to 1931, and as Honorary Secretary of the Royal Institution.

Find out about our 2019 winners

Find out more about the work of previous winners

Learn more about our other awards