Nuclear Physics Early Career Researcher Prize

This annual prize is for a promising early career scientist with not more than five years research experience who has made an outstanding contribution to nuclear physics. 

The prize is £300. The winner is invited to present their work at the annual IOP Nuclear Physics Conference.


Nominees must:

  • work in the nuclear industry
  • work in the applications of nuclear physics 
  • have less than five years research experience 

Postgraduate and postdoctoral work is included in the qualifying period of a maximum of five years research experience.

What is not included in the maximum five year qualifying period:

  • career breaks
  • pastime study
  • time employed in unrelated physics-based research. Please include a brief career history if this is the case

We also support nominations from students themselves, as long as they have the support of their supervisor.

Deadline for nomination forms for the next award was: 2 March 2020
Deadline for supporting statements for the next award was: 9 March 2020

Download a nomination form (Word, 62KB).


2018  Dr Robert Shearman, University of Surrey

2017 Dr Ronald Garcia Ruiz, University of Manchester

2016 Dr Frank Brown, University of Brighton

2015 Dr Daniel Doherty, University of York

2013 Kara Lynch, The University of Manchester

2012 Liam Gaffney, University of Liverpool

2011 Matthew Reed, University of Surrey

2010 Edward Simpson, University of Surrey